Cookies on this website
We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. If you click 'Continue' we'll assume that you are happy to receive all cookies and you won't see this message again. Click 'Find out more' for information on how to change your cookie settings.
Skip to main content

Jessica Whitburn

Clinical Research Fellow and DPhil student

I graduated from University College London Medical School in 2010 with a 1st class BSc in Immunology and Cell Pathology and MBBS with honours. During this time I undertook laboratory research at the Centre for Inflammation and Tissue Repair (UCL), and developed a strong interest in translating basic science research to the clinical setting. I received Dean’s List honours for this work. After qualifying I completed my Foundation doctor training in London where I continued to combine clinical practice with my research interests.


In 2012 I was successfully appointed as an Urology NIHR Academic Clinical Fellow in Oxford. During this time I undertook laboratory research in Prof Claire Edwards bone oncology group, alongside surgical training, and completing a Postgraduate Diploma in Health Research.


After completing my Basic Surgical Training I was awarded a Cancer Research UK Fellowship (2016-2019) to pursue a DPhil in Prof Edwards group continuing my work examining prostate cancer bone metastases. Prostate cancer remains the most commonly diagnosed male cancer in the Western world, and the second leading cause of cancer related deaths in men. While treatment of localised disease is very effective, metastatic disease (typically to bone) remain incurable. My research aim is to elucidate the metabolic changes that occur in prostate cancer when it spreads to bone, with the hope of identifying novel therapeutic targets. I have been awarded numerous awards for my work including the Japanese Society for the Promotion of Science Summer Fellowship (2016), International Society of Cancer Metabolism travel prize (2018), EAU Best Resident in training abstract prize (3rd, 2019) and BAUS academic research prize (1st, 2019).

Research groups