Cookies on this website

We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. If you click 'Accept all cookies' we'll assume that you are happy to receive all cookies and you won't see this message again. If you click 'Reject all non-essential cookies' only necessary cookies providing core functionality such as security, network management, and accessibility will be enabled. Click 'Find out more' for information on how to change your cookie settings.

Claire Edwards, Associate Professor of Bone Oncology at the Nuffield Department of Surgical Sciences, was awarded the prestigious 2023 Mike Horton Basic/Translational Award from the European Calcified Tissue Society (ECTS) in recognition of her significant contributions to the field of bone and calcified tissue.

Salvatore Minisola, Claire Edwards, Pieter Pietschmann, and Anna Teti at the awards ceremony
Associate Professor Claire Edwards (middle left) receives the 2023 ECTS Mike Horton Award

Professor Edwards received the award from Pieter Pietschmann (President-Elect), Salvatore Minisola (Research Committee Chair) and Anna Teti (Co-chair of Grants and Awards Sub-committee), in a ceremony at the recent ECTS meeting in Liverpool.

The ECTS is the major organisation in Europe for researchers and clinicians working in the musculoskeletal field.

Professor Mike Horton (1948-2010) was a hematologist-turned-basic scientist who made significant contributions in the bone field and beyond. He performed pioneering work in osteoclast biology which resulted, among other things, in the recognition of the alpha v beta 3 integrin as a therapeutic target for inhibiting bone resorption. 

On receiving the award, Professor Edwards said: 'I am honoured to have been selected for the ECTS Mike Horton Award. The ECTS is a fantastic musculoskeletal research community that I am fortunate to be a part of and I am very grateful to all my colleagues who have supported me along the way.'

Find out more about the ECTS Mike Horton Award and Professor Edward's research on the ECTS website