Cookies on this website

We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. If you click 'Accept all cookies' we'll assume that you are happy to receive all cookies and you won't see this message again. If you click 'Reject all non-essential cookies' only necessary cookies providing core functionality such as security, network management, and accessibility will be enabled. Click 'Find out more' for information on how to change your cookie settings.

Erlick, a senior neurosurgical registrar, received the award from the Royal College of Surgeons for 2014 and 2015. He has been with Professor Tipu Aziz’s group since joining as a medical student ten years ago, with whom he has co-written the basal ganglia chapter of the forthcoming 41st edition of Gray’s Anatomy. Other recent awards include the Congress of Neurological Surgeons' Ron Tasker Award and American Association of Neurological Surgeons' William Sweet Award.

Named after the pioneering surgeon scientist John Hunter and dating back over two centuries, past recipients of the Professorship include Fleming, Treves, Spencer-Wells, Penfield, Darzi, Trotter and Moynihan. 

Erlick has published around 50 papers together with Professor Aziz and Mr Alex Green and another 40 in other areas of surgery and neuroscience. Last year, he gained both his FRCS (Neuro.Surg) and was awarded a DM for research into deep brain surgery for pain advised by Alex Green with whom he has also co-authored a soon to be published book, Surgery of the Autonomic Nervous System.

His Hunterian lecture about the midbrain periaqueductal grey will be delivered to the Society of British Neurological Surgeons and published in the Annals of the The Royal College Of Surgeons of England.