Cookies on this website

We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. If you click 'Accept all cookies' we'll assume that you are happy to receive all cookies and you won't see this message again. If you click 'Reject all non-essential cookies' only necessary cookies providing core functionality such as security, network management, and accessibility will be enabled. Click 'Find out more' for information on how to change your cookie settings.

Many congratulations to Ashok Handa who has been awarded the title of Professor of Vascular Surgery in this year's Recognition of Distinction exercise at the University of Oxford.

Professor Ashok Handa

Professor Ashok Handa is the Director of Teaching in Surgery and leads the Oxford Abdominal Aortic Aneurysm (OxAAA) Study at the Nuffield Department of Surgical Sciences.

Commenting on his success, Professor Handa said: "I am delighted to have this recognition from the University. It represents many years of collaborative research in patient safety and vascular surgery and more recently in the biology of abdominal aortic aneurysms with the OxAAA study with my Co-PI Associate Professor Regent Lee. I have been fortunate with the many collaborations in Oxford over the last 20 years studying vascular disease. This would not have been possible without all our patients who have taken part in the studies and our research students.

"In addition, I have had  the opportunity to make a significant contribution to undergraduate and postgraduate surgical education and would like to thank the Surgery Tutors administration team and all our teachers in helping to make this recognition possible."

Similar stories

Professor Claire Edwards receives the European Calcified Tissue Society Mike Horton Award

Claire Edwards, Associate Professor of Bone Oncology at the Nuffield Department of Surgical Sciences, was awarded the prestigious 2023 Mike Horton Basic/Translational Award from the European Calcified Tissue Society (ECTS) in recognition of her significant contributions to the field of bone and calcified tissue.